New York City Books

Some people go clothes shopping for travel but most of the time, I just go book shopping.  I check over the guidebooks certainly but I tend to spend more time reading either non-fiction historical titles or fiction titles set in the area where I will be traveling.  I’ve gotten a bit behind this time around and with only 5 weeks to go until I leave to my first trip to New York City, I’ve had to limit my reading choices.  Note that the following books aren’t recommendations since I haven’t read them yet but titles I will be reading in prep for my trip.  If you have any suggestions or think I’ve missed a must read please let me know!

Thunder Dog: A Blind Man, His Guide Dog, and the Triumph of Trust at Ground Zero by Michael Hingson A blind man and his guide dog show the power of trust and courage in the midst of devastating terror.  In this harrowing story of trust and courage, discover how blindness and a bond between dog and man saved lives and brought hope during one of America’s darkest days.

This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman.  The events of a single night shatter a family’s sense of security and identity in this provocative and deeply affecting domestic drama—a brilliantly observed portrait of modern life and the underlying truths we take for granted.

Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan.  A touching story of Ellie Hogan who must leave her husband, John, at home in Ireland so that she may spend time working in New York to earn enough money to afford surgery for John’s war injuries.

Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens.  The description of this is terrible so I won’t post it here but needless to say this choice is an ode to my friend Kay with the whole NYC, Colin, past friend turned love, danger thing going on.  Plus the cover has the whole Heather Locklear thing going on and any 80’s girl can’t resist that.

The Good Fairies of New York by Martin Millar. When a pair of fugitive Scottish thistle fairies end up transplanted to Manhattan by mistake, both the Big Apple and the Little People have a lot of adjusting to do.  With Neil Gaiman’s name attached I’m terribly leary of this book but I’m going to give it a go anyway.

The Lost Weekend by Charles Jackson.  This is the story of a man in the grip of alcohol; it moves forward with speed, force, and heartbreaking truth taking place over a 5 day bender in New York.

All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin. In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty.  A chocolate and coffee based mafia?  I’m so in!

Dreamland Social Club by Tara Altebrando.  Rollercoasters, carousels, and bumper cars; hot dogs, dive bars, and beach umbrellas. A high school novel set on Coney Island with more substance that your average YA lit.

The Fortress of Solitude by Jonathan Lethem.  No blurb anywhere makes sense so I’m just going to let you ferret out this one on your own.

And, finally, I’ll be re-reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn because it’s one of my favorite books of all time.

Leave a Reply

