Night of Writing Dangerously

Although I should be packing for my trip to New York (it’s just a week away!!!!) I’m all in a tither about the Night of Writing Dangerously Write-a-thon put on by the folks over at the Office of Letters and Light who handle NaNoWriMo each year.  Personally, I think it’s just a sublime procrastination on my part not to pack or shop for New York – I’ve already threatened to spend the whole trip naked just so I don’t have to pack anything.  But I digress.

 

ANYWAY, I’ve been doing National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) since 2005 and, since 2006, we’ve been hosting it within the Looney Lounge over at HPFF.  Ever wonder how that place got its name? Jay and I were up late working one night getting that forum set up and he asked what it should be named.  My smart ass response?  “Timeturner’s Loony Lounge or some shit”.  Henceforth and forever more that’ became its name.  See? And people think we plan ahead, pfft.

 

This is a year of milestones it seems (10 for the site, 10 for September 11th, 5 years for NOWD) so it seems only fitting that this will be my first year getting to go.  There are actually several to be named staffers who are going but right now the total stands at myself, Jay, and GW.  A few others are working on scheduling issues but hopefully they’ll get it figured out soon because, honestly, this is going to be one of the funnest nights around if we can manage to get this group all together.  Yes, the intent is to write for hours on end but, let’s face it – I’m usually done by that date anyway (never with my original plot) and there is an open bar.  Shall I repeated that:  OPEN BAR.  The likelihood of intelligent writing taking place by any of us is next to nil.

 

And that’s okay. Because that’s who we are. More fun to make a memory with each other than worry about that pesky little word count thing.  Okay…perhaps not.  We will all obsess over it but, no matter how it turns out, we will undoubtedly have stories to write about afterwards!!

Leave a Reply

