Banned Books Week Giveaway Hop

I’m a sucker for rule breaking.  Why not join me on the dark side this month and speak out against banning books?  I’ve joined the awesome Banned Books Giveaway Hop hosted by I am a Reader not a Writer and I Read Banned Books.  During the official ALA Banned Books Week (September 24 through October 1) you can enter to win a free book here at Photo Rambles.

Entry is simple: I’m not going to make you follow me (although that would be nice I do occasionally post amusing anecdotes) or twirl in circles or sing karaoke or anything of the sort.  Instead, just drop me a comment in this post and tell me your favorite banned book.  Winners will be chosen at random.  I will ship international BUT if the book is banned in your country and mailing it to you puts me on your country’s “top ten most wanted list” you will be required to post my bail.  If they ever catch me that is!

One entry per person, please. Comments on other blog entries will not be counted for this giveaway.  Want a chance to win even more books?  Click HERE for a list of participating blogs.

I know, I know….”nifty but WHAT can I win???”  Since Harry Potter has topped the list of offending materials every year since it’s first publication I’m giving away a copy of Harry Potter’s Bookshelf: The Great Books behind the Hogwarts Adventures which, not surprisingly, is filled with info about even more banned books and their correlation to the Potter series.  If you aren’t a Potter fan I will substitute an Amazon cert.  I aim to please, after all.

 

Harry Potter’s Bookshelf: The Great Books Behind the Hogwarts Adventures explores the literary landscape of themes and genres J.K. Rowling artfully wove throughout her novels-and the influential authors and stories that inspired her. From Jane Austen’s Emma and Charles Dickens’s class struggles, through the gothic romances of Dracula and Frankenstein and the detective mysteries of Dorothy L. Sayers, to the dramatic alchemy of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and William Shakespeare, Rowling cast a powerful spell with the great books of English literature that transformed the story of a young wizard into a worldwide pop culture phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

