HarperCollins Fall 2012

One of the biggest booths at BEA, HarperCollins has a book for almost every YA reader this year.  Due to the size of their catalog, it’s been broken into two posts for summer and fall 2012.  BEA Exhibitor Booths 3339, 3340

Defiance by C. J. Redwine.  When Rachel’s father goes missing on a mission, her attempt to escape their walled city-state and find him brings danger, heartbreak, and a new romance with her father’s apprentice.  A rich and accessible YA fantasy full of danger, romance, and swordplay-perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore.  Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city’s brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls train to be proper ladies, Rachel trains to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father’s apprentice, Logan-the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the one who handed her heart right back to her. And so Rachel decides to escape and find her father herself. But treason against the Commander carries a heavy price.  At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to Baalboden’s top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor’s impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.  As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by assassins out for blood and a monster that can’t be killed, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that could start a war decades in the making.

Ten by Gretchen McNeil.  In this horror novel loosely inspired by Agatha Christie’s AND THEN THERE WERE NONE, ten teens head to a house party at a remote island mansion off the Washington coast…only for them to be picked off by a killer one by one.  In this edge-of-your-seat horror novel, ten teens head to a house party on a remote island mansion off the Washington coast…only to be picked off by a killer one by one.  It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives-three days on Henry Island at an exclusive house party. Best friends Meg and Minnie each have their own reasons for wanting to be there, which involve crush-worthy T. J. Fletcher, and they anticipate three glorious days of boys, bonding, and luxury. But what they expect is definitely not what they get. What starts as a fun-filled weekend turns dark and twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: “Vengeance is mine.”  Suddenly people are dying, and with a storm raging, the teens are cut off from the outside world. As the deaths become more gruesome and the teens turn on each other, can Meg find the murderer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?  Inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None, Ten is a fast-paced, spine-tingling novel of suspense that will have readers’ hearts racing until its shocking conclusion.

Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr.  In a city of daimons, the Carnival of Souls hosts a deadly competition. Once in a generation, every citizen can fight to join the ruling elite. Without the competition, Aya and Kaleb would both face bleak futures-if for different reasons.  With bold, original vision, bestseller Melissa Marr presents an all-new world, where pleasure and murder are for sale, identities are masked, and everyone faces a struggle for power-and survival-in the Carnival of Souls.   In a city of daimons, the Carnival of Souls hosts a deadly competition. Once in a generation, every citizen can fight to join the ruling elite. Without the competition, Aya and Kaleb would both face bleak futures-if for different reasons. For each of them, fighting to the death is the only way to try to live.  In our own world, Mallory knows that her father-and every other witch-fled the daimons’ city long ago. She trains to be lethal because it’s only a matter of time until the daimons catch up with them. While Mallory possesses little knowledge of The City, every inhabitant of The City knows of her. There are plans there for Mallory, and soon she, too, will be drawn into the decadence that is the Carnival of Souls. From Melissa Marr, bestselling author of the Wicked Lovely series, comes a brand-new tale of secrets, love, and the struggle to forge one’s own destiny.

Starling by Lesley Livingston.  A new trilogy about a teenage girl who discovers her ties to ancient mythology…as she discovers, mythology isn’t ancient history.  In this epic saga of romance and supernatural danger, Mason Starling finds herself swept up in an ancient destiny that she doesn’t want but can’t avoid. Mason Starling is a champion fencer for Gosforth Academy, but she’s never had to fight for her life. Until now. When a ferocious storm rips through Manhattan and unleashes terrifying creatures onto Gosforth’s campus, Mason barely escapes alive. Without help from the mysterious stranger who appeared in the midst of the storm, she might not have made it at all. But now, in the aftermath, Mason’s life begins to spin dramatically, mystically out of control, and the only one who seems able to help her is the stranger who can remember nothing but his name: Fennrys Wolf. As Mason and Fenn uncover more about Fenn’s past and the strange events that surround them, they realize that Mason’s family-and its dark allegiance to the ancient Norse gods-is at the center of everything. A predetermined fate seems to be closing in on Mason, but is it possible to change one’s destiny?  Readers who fell in love with Lesley Livingston’s Wondrous Strange trilogy and those who love Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series will be captivated by the sweeping romance and pulse-pounding action of Starling.

Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You by Joyce Carol Oates.  Merissa and Nadia need Tink more than ever before. They each have secrets they could share with no one but her, secrets that have become toxic and that threaten to unravel their friendship-and themselves. Tink had a secret, too, a big one, but no one knows what it was. And now she’s gone.  Joyce Carol Oates masterfully captures the unique experience of being a teenage girl in this provocative and poignant new novel in the vein of Wintergirls and Thirteen Reasons Why.  The girls of Tink, Inc., are: Merissa (“The Perfect One”), Nadia (“The Slut”), and, until last summer, Tink.  Senior year, their last year together, Merissa and Nadia need Tink more than they ever did before. They each have secrets they could share with no one but her, secrets that have become toxic and that threaten to unravel their friendship-and themselves. Tink had a secret, too, a big one, but no one knows what it was. And now she’s gone.  Then, the girls hear Tink, whispering to them. Sometimes, the girls feel Tink, trying to tell them something….  Joyce Carol Oates returns with Two or Three Things I Forgot to Tell You, an enthralling new novel for teens that masterfully captures the raw emotions and accessible immediacy of Wintergirls and Thirteen Reasons Why-with an unexpected twist.

Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna.  Part dystopian, part sci-fi, and part romance, this electrifying YA debut is the story of a clone fighting against the system that created her-and finding the courage to be true to her humanity.  Eva’s life is not her own. She is a creation, an abomination-an echo. She was made by the Weavers as a copy of someone else, expected to replace a girl named Amarra, her “other,” if she ever died. Eva spends every day studying that girl from far away, learning what Amarra does, what she eats, what it’s like to kiss her boyfriend, Ray. So when Amarra is killed in a car crash, Eva should be ready.  But fifteen years of studying never prepared her for this.  Now she must abandon everything and everyone she’s ever known-the guardians who raised her, the boy she’s forbidden to love-to move to India and convince the world that Amarra is still alive.  What Eva finds is a grief-stricken family; parents unsure of how to handle this echo they thought they wanted; and Ray, who knew every detail, every contour of Amarra. And when Eva is unexpectedly dealt a fatal blow that will change her existence forever, she is forced to choose: Stay and live out her years as a copy or leave and risk it all for the freedom to be an original. To be Eva.  From debut novelist Sangu Mandanna comes the dazzling story of a girl who was always told what she had to be-until she found the strength to decide for herself.

The Turning by Francine Prose.  Jack is babysitting for the summer on an isolated island with no Wi-Fi, no cell service, and no one else around but a housekeeper and two very peculiar children. Soon he is feeling terribly alone, but then he discovers there are others. The problem is, he’s the only who can see them.  Where does reality end and insanity begin? The Turn of the Screw reinvented for modern-day teens, by National Book Award finalist Francine Prose.  Jack is babysitting for the summer on an isolated island with no Wi-Fi, no cell service, and no one else around but a housekeeper and two very peculiar children. He immediately senses something sinister-and it’s not just the creepy black house he’s living in. Soon he is feeling terribly isolated and alone, but then he discovers there are others. The problem is, he’s the only who can see them. As secrets are revealed and darker truths surface, Jack desperately struggles to maintain a grip on reality. He knows what he sees, and he isn’t crazy…Or is he?  From nationally acclaimed author Francine Prose comes a mind-bending twist on the classic Henry James ghost story, with teenage characters and a young-love storyline. Chilling and thought provoking, Prose masterfully draws subtle lines between reality, imagination, and insanity.

Sequels to watch for:

 

Advertisements

One thought on “HarperCollins Fall 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s